Tamesis Club

Curtis McKay wins Topper 2017 Open – South East Area

The second South East Area Topper Open held at Tamesis and sponsored by Virtual Rigger was held in  brilliant sunshine and a gusty easterly.  The conditions brought thirteen Topper entries, seven visitors and six Tamesis boats. The racing was close, and the standard very high.

The first two races took place before lunch. The figure of eight course set to allow a short upwind leg across the river was challenging for visitors and locals alike.  The starts equally challenging as each race had a general recall.

Curtis Mackay from Hillingdon spent most of the first race in second with Tamesis sailor Constantin Gerber leading for the first three rounds.  Finley Swanton from Felpham climbed up the fleet from fourth to finish 2nd.  Constantin was third.

Finley won the second race with Curtis in third, with Lily Barret from Island Barn Sailing Club in second.

The third race after lunch was on a longer course taking the sailors above Steven’s Ait towards Kingston Bridge.  The wind had steadied slightly swinging further to the north.  Again it was hard fought but Curtis showed his quality and won by a four minute margin, with Lily Barret second, and Finley third.

Overall placings as follows:

1st Curtis Mackay *

2nd Finley Swanton

3rd Lily Barret

4th Constantin Gerber

1st 4.2 Cameron Sword – Papercourt*

1st Tamesis Boat – Constantin Gerber*

Asterisks indicates winners of £20 voucher from Virtual Rigger

Race Officer Carolyne Vines assisted by Sue Harris.  On the water team led by Richard Harris included Ken Duffell, Ian Ramage, Florian Krueger, Tobias Sproehnle, Daniel and Catherine Gerber

Congratulations to the other Tamesis Topper sailors, for most of whom this was their first open meeting:  Harry Harris, Philip Russ, David Altun, Jay Dosh, Mathew Valentine

Link to video of the day by Kathrin Gerber – many thanks     https://youtu.be/eZWFJLANTtw

Winner Curtis McKay presented the Murray Vines Cup by Commodore Carolyne Vines

photo Stewart Colley


Tamesis Club Flag Officers and Officers

Commodore    Carolyne Vines   001

Vice Commodore    Alan Green  


Rear Commodore (Sailing)    Chris Pollard    ChrisPollardcropped

Rear Commodore (House)    Nicky Johnson    IMG_8182

Hon Secretary    Rupert Fletcher

Hon Treasurer    Graeme Lythe

Hon Asst Treasurer    James Berry

Hon Sailing Secretary    Brian Timbrell

Hon Solicitor    Charlie Morgan

Hon Bosun    Paul Jamieson

Hon Harbour Master   Peter Johnson

Hon Harbour Master    Howard Thatcher


Management Committee    Flag Officers, Officers, Sue Katz, Ian Ramage, Simon Thompson, Chris McLaughlin

Sailing Committee    Flag Officers, Sailing Secretary, Harbour Masters, Class Captains, John Dunkley, Daniel Gerber, Florian Krueger, Matt Dalton

House Committee    Rear Commodore (House), Barbara Adams, Anne Bayne, Nicky Chavasse, Sue Harris, Sara Jamieson, Carolyn Reeves. Sally Warwick-Haller

Hon Auditor    David Jerram

Class Captains

National 18  Michael Vasey

Merlin Rocket  Joe Woods

Firefly  Sue Harris

Laser  Donald Forbes

Int Cadet Squadron  Richard Harris

Offshore Group  Clive Mence


Bridge Group  Margaret Stokes

Webmaster  Kaan Yargici

Chief Sailing Instructor  Eric Finlayson