Tamesis Club

SPINDRIFT takes Yates Cup

In a close-fought race at Tamesis Club today Martin Hunter’s SPINDRIFT took first place and the historic Yates Cup, first presented in 1908. On a bright sunny day with a light variable northerly breeze the eight “A” class Raters made a stunning addition to the river vista at Tamesis. The Yates Cup race was the third in a 6-race series held over this weekend for the Braganza Bowl, another historic silver cup first presented in 1904. OOD was Peter Fryer.
1 SPINDRIFT Martin Hunter, 2 ATLANTIS Julian Smith, 3 LADY JANE Sam Mills, 4 OSPREY Paul Browning,
5 VAGABOND Kevin Pearson, 6 KINGFISHER Martin Collen, 7 TARA Mark Gould, 8 LADY IONA Tom Wilson.
The final 3 races for the Braganza Bowl will take place on Sunday 20th September, when the fleet will join in a club race programme and also the international charity event “BART’S BASH”.