Tamesis Club

GW Smith Trophy 4.7.19

The first race in the GW Smith series was a relatively quiet affair with a wind stated as being north west but as usual varying widely both in strength and direction.

Nevertheless there was good racing throughout the fourteen strong fleet.  Charlie Morgan started the race  as he started the Saga Trophy, in the lead, but was passed by Tim and Ed Medcalf in their Merlin Samanda who finished the race as winners on the water.  Further back in the fleet the racing was intense with places won and lost on the mark roundings as boats bunched together.  In the end Matt Jones made the best job of picking through the fleet and making the most of the wind and was the winner on handicap

Laser 122399 INXS_IVE Matt Jones 1
Merlin 576 Samanda Tim Medcalf Ed Medcalf 2
Merlin 1978 Lady Anne Charlie Morgan 3
Merlin 1602 Saltarello John Adams Carolyne Vines 4
Albacore 6813 Cobblers David Baker Barbara Adams 5
N18 266 Genevieve Charles Fox Robert Blakebrough 6
RS400 650 Griff Tanner Louis Tanner 7
Merlin 1773 Oozlam Geoff Bayliss Sue Harris 8
Merlin 1136 Shoestring Peter Johnson Paul Jamieson 9
Firefly 3841 Genesis Matt Dalton Anna Dalton 10
Laser 146170 Storm Ellen Schwartz 11
Laser 130773 Chris Taggart 12
Laser Peter Impey 13
Laser 171688 Tim Ginn 14​

So the GW Smith series starts with an interesting race, a good entry  and the usual sociable supper and gathering after the race.

Lets keep up the good work.

John Adams