Tamesis Club

Winter Series Prizegiving 2022

Although racing was abbreviated on Sunday 15th May by a Skiff Club event, the day’s delights were extended to include prizegiving for the 2021/2022 Winter Series.


This Winter’s Laser racing was dominated by a mixture of newer and younger faces.

The Frostbite Mug for Winter Points was awarded to Henry Medcalf, with Matt Valentine and Chris Taggart second and third respectively.

Henry Medcalf receiving the Frostbite Mug for Laser Winter Points

Laser Winter Handicap went to Matt Valentine.

Matt Valentine receiving the Laser Winter Handicap prize

National 18

Burt’s Mug, the prize for the National 18 Winter Series, went to Henry DeFries and Carolyne Vines in Zephyr, with Chris Pollard & Alistair Banks (Antedote) second, and Charles Fox & Robert Blakeborough (Genevieve) third.

Henry DeFries (c) and Carolyne Vines (l) receive Burt’s Mug from Commodore Chris Pollard (r)


The Enterprise Winter Traveller Series, a well-attended series at the start of 2022, was won by Ed Mayley of Minima YC. His trophy was collected by Rob Mayley.

The Enterprise Winter Traveller Series trophy collected by Rob Mayley on behalf of Ed Mayley.

Merlin Rocket

Andy Harris and Matty Key (Point Break) cleaned up the Merlin Rocket prizes, winning the Black Hen trophy for the Travellers Series as well as the Black Mark Winter Points prize. In both cases Richard Harris & Emma McDonald (Passing Cloud) were second, and Joe McLaughlin & Sean Roberts (Lady Anne) were third.

Andy Harris and Matty Key, winners of the Merlin Rocket Winter Points Trophy

The clean-up accidentally included the Geoff Cooper Memorial Trophy, awarded to the winner of the final race of the Winter Series. This will be re-assigned to the correct winners, Richard Harris & Emma McDonald in Passing Cloud, at the earliest opportunity.

The Winter Handicap prize was won by Peter Impey & crew in War Horse (absent sailing at Blackwater SC), with Joe McLaughlin & Sean Roberts second in Lady Anne, and Ken Duffell & Joe Woods third in Avenger.


March Blue Mini-Series

Pennants and celebratory bottles were also awarded to the winners of the mini-series in March which saw the successful trial of the new Blue Series racing.

The winners were:


  1. Matty Key
  2. John Edmondson
  3. Jim Hamilton
Matty Key, winner of the March Blue mini-series (Laser)


  1. Henry DeFries & Carolyne Vines (Zephyr)
  2. Antedote (Chris Pollard & Alistair Banks)
  3. Orion (Mal Warner & Beatrice Russ)


  1. Charlie Morgan & Tim Ginn (Andromeda)
  2. Matt Peregrine-Jones & Lyra Wade (Masquerade)
  3. Peter Mason & Richard Mason (Bambusa)


Prizes were organised “Master of the Trophies” Henry DeFries and awarded by the Commodore, Chris Pollard. Thanks are due to both.