Tamesis Club

Saga Trophy Results

The first of the Thursday evening handicap series , the Saga Trophy, has now been completed with a good series of races and with 7 boats completing 5 or more races to qualify. Detailed results are pinned up in the club on the ‘Offshore’ board but the 7 qualifiers the results are:


Boat Number Name Helm Crew Races sailed Total points for best 5 races Position
Laser 197213 RTM Marcus Chavasse   7 8 1
N18 336 Orion Alan Green Garrie Mallen 6 12 2
Merlin Rocket 1004 Avenger Ken Duffell Brian Corking 6 13 3
Merlin Rocket 1212 Fair Kop Barry Mourant Carolyne Vines /Peter Johnson 5 20 4
N18 348 Antedote Chris Pollard Debbie Leach/Anne Bayne 5 22 5
Laser 89025   Graham King   6 23 6
Firefly 8179 Fiasco Jim Hamilton   5 33 7


As can be seen , the results are very close, so sign up and make the next series, the GW Smith Trophy, starting this Thursday, 7th July, even closer.  As this will be a shorter series than the Saga Trophy, only 4 races are needed for qualification.



Tamesis Club on Sunday 26th October won a close-fought series of six races sailed in Vintage Merlin Rockets (each boat more than 30 years old) by teams from Tamesis, Minima Yacht Club and Thames Sailing Club for the venerable Three Burgee Trophy, a fine framed montage of embroidered burgees surrounded by silver plaques from many years’ competition.  The racing, in variable, mainly SW winds averaging 6-8 knots took place in front of the Tamesis clubhouse where many supporters from the three clubs watched from the lawns and clubhouse as boats vied for position round the marks and finished often only a few seconds apart.

The three teams raced the tightly-packed back-to-back round robin series between 1400 and 1630.  The winning team comprised Ken Duffell and Matt Peregrine-Jones in Merlin 995, with John Adams and daughter Zoe in 1602, and Richard Mourant and Joe Woods in 1212, scoring wins in races 1, 4 and 5.

Second-placed was Thames SC with two wins in races 2 and 6, the team comprising Chris Martin and Pippa Mccosh in 3656, Gemma Hughes and Philippa Daniels in 3548, with Stephen Kettner and Nikki Erskine-Tulloch in 2805.  Third team was Minima YC who won race 3 with Ben Marshall and Soul Sheehan in 2529, Selshah and Alex Cane in 1872 and Paul Seamen and Eileen Barry in 1952.

RNLI benefit  During the day’s racing the Ladies from the Twickenham Branch of  RNLI came for their annual visit to the club making brisk sales of christmas cards and souvenirs: boats taking part in the Three Burgee Trophy each donated to the cause.

In welcoming the visiting teams to Tamesis, Commodore Stewart Colley said the club was delighted to be host to the event, which rotates in a three-year cycle between the three clubs.  All maintain an active Merlin Rocket fleet.  The Commodore thanked race officers Alan and Susan Green and Peter Konidaris, patrol boat crew Paul and Mrs Jamieson, Nicky Chavasse and her staff for their excellent catering and other Tamesis members for their support.



Tamesis v Thames 2nd race
Tamesis v Thames 2nd race
The winning team: Zoe Jeffra Adams, John Adams, Ken Duffell, Matt Peregrine Jones, Joe Woods, Richard Mourant and Commodore Stewart Colley
The winning team: Zoe Jeffra Adams, John Adams, Ken Duffell, Matt Peregrine Jones, Joe Woods, Richard Mourant and Commodore Stewart Colley