Top white facebook2x Top white twitter2x Top white instagram2x Top white phone2x 020 8977 3589 Top white email2x Email us Top white search2x Basket Login
Home / News / Single Handers Dominate Centenary Cup 2024
Home / News / Single Handers Dominate Centenary Cup 2024

Single Handers Dominate Centenary Cup 2024

1436619 orig
Published 13:56 on 3 Jun 2024

After a week of rather iffy weather, we were greeted by bright sunshine and a northerly wind on Sunday morning. Perfect weather for a handicap pursuit race.

This was the day for the annual Centenary Cup presented by then Commodore Louis Dereham back in 1985 during the year of the club centenary.

A good mix of classes totalling twenty-two boats took part including Solos, Lasers, Merlins, Enterprise and National 18s, the slowest class on handicap starting first and the Ultimate National 18s starting last.

OOD Richard Harris set a port hand loop with a downstream start, the windward mark set just below the creek and the leeward mark level with the willow tree upstream of Stevens Ait.

The three Solos set off to a cracking start and led all the way, though the two top Lasers were neck and neck with them towards the end.

Joe McLaughlin and Tim Medcalf in their Solos were often very close, but it looked as if Joe's lead was unassailable. Tim Barr in the third Solo Class Association demo boat, Jon Redding and Marcus Chavasse in their Lasers had caught them on the last run up past the club before the finish at 1230 sharp. The leading fleet disappeared round the corner by Stevens Ait, and we had to wait until the prizegiving to find out who had finally clinched the Cup!

Competitors and spectators crowded the lawn and the riverside seats to enjoy lunch and a drink from the bar.

The prizegiving took place on the lawn after lunch with Commodore Marcus Chavasse officiating, and Richard Harris announcing.

Many thanks to OOD Richard Harris assisted by Kris Morcom in the box, Chris Pollard, Chris Wade and James Berry in the Patrol Boat.

Many thanks also to the staff for providing great sandwiches and serving drinks from the bar.


1st Solo 5089 Tim Medcalf

2nd Solo 6044 Joe McLaughlin

3rd Laser 188044 Jon Redding

4th Solo 6053 Tim Barr

5th Laser 197213 Marcus Chavasse

6th Laser 201014 Ros Warwick-Haller

7th Laser 20555 Jim Hamilton

8th Laser 211865 Ilkr Sener

9th Laser 1374 Alexey Anatskiy

10th Enterprise 22816 Peter Bide and Peter Impey

11th Merlin 1004 Ken Duffell and Joe Woods

12th Nat 18' 266 Charles Fox and Robert Blakebrough

13th Merlin 1357 David Baker and Barbara Adams

14th Nat 18' 374 Alison Cooper and Andrew Craig

15th Merlin 1136 Peter Johnson and Paul Jamieson

16th Nat 18'' 369 Mike and Jennifer Adams

17th Merlin 3333 John Adams and Zoe Adams

18th Laser 198571 Chris Taggart

19th Laser 122399 Lyra Wade

20th Laser 135612 Peter Konidaris

21st Merlin 1605 Rupert Fletcher and Brian Y

Retd Nat 18' 349 Alastair Banks and Marie

Report and cover photo: Carolyne Vines

Last updated 12:16 on 1 July 2024

© 2024 Tamesis Club Limited powered by Sailing Club Manager